Jonah is eight

Jonah yesterday morning, after climbing into bed with me: “If I had never been born I would never be eight!”

Jonah is eight. More than with seven, I am going a little crazy with the idea. Eight means ten is coming. Something about fifth grade induces a shift in me, due to my own difficult fifth grade year and how, in a way, my childhood ended then because of that intense difficulty.

“Do I look different?” he asked, snuggling in closer. Funny thing is, he did. Just a bit. I told him so.

For weeks, J has been waxing philosophical. It started with a little bit of fear—of change, of growing up: “I want my childhood! I want to keep it forever!” But in recent days, he’s transitioned to: “I’m happy for my childhood, even if I’m sad to leave it.”

And yes, I assured him his childhood is Not over. I didn’t go so far to say that he might be one of the lucky ones whose childhood is extended rather than shortened because of his nature, but I believe it is so. And yes, his words ring with more than just a little bit of his father’s vernacular, the youngest looking 40+ person I know. But Jonah still means them for himself. Where would we be without other people’s words helping us find our own?

Jonah is eight.

eight cakebat boy birthdayastro open

One thought on “Jonah is eight

Leave a Reply

