Graveyard construction and black stabbing work

Looking for something to do with your kids on a brilliant autumn afternoon? Build a graveyard!

ghosty
headstone j    headstone g
In the midst of church, Jonah whispered to me his afternoon plans:

“When we get home, I am going to build my grave!” Sure enough, as soon as he wolfed down his waffle, he was at work. Had a little trouble getting the right sized hole to make his headstone stand, but with a little help from John, all was well. A haunting ghost was assembled, blue and spooky. Gabriel predictably began chanting, “I want a grave too! I want a ghost!” With a little cajoling, Jonah produced a suitable representation, and a graveyard was born.

Personally, the whole set up looks a little too much like the gallows for my taste, but heck it’s Halloween, and I admire what some might call the macabre bent Jonah’s creating sometimes takes.

Speaking of bents, let’s move on to Gabriel. I’ve written before about his penchant for escaping. Thank God he’s pretty much grown out of that, though he does continue to be terribly sneaky-quiet when he’s up to something like, shall we say, finding a way to get the superglued-on lid off of the air freshener “smelling work” at school and then, of course, digging his fingers in, followed by a good eye rub.

Screaming ensued. His horrified teacher (I mean, she did  go to the effort to superglue the lid on), called me as I was on my way to the grocery store to ask if I would fetch G early. In the meantime she flushed his eyes and wrapped him in a tight bear hug, which calmed him considerably. I arrived to find him still in her arms, still rubbing his eyes. I assured his teacher that he would be just fine, that he gets into scrapes like this often, that I wasn’t too concerned  (or planning to sue her for negligence). Crisis withstood.

Next day…

I pick up G in carline to find his left index finger wrapped in a large stretchy bandage.  I hardly needed to ask “What happened to your finger?” before he returned, “I hurt myself with the black stabbing work!” (This might be a good time to mention that all of the activities in a Montessori classroom are referred to as “work.” As Maria Montessori puts it: “The child can develop fully by means of experience in his environment. We call such experiences ‘work’.”)

Hmmm. Black stabbing work. While I was unable to home in on exactly what the activity was, G says “You do stabbing and gluing.” Further inquiry reveals that paper is involved.

Not much more to tell, but of course I have a dozen more things to say. The gist being, I’ll take my macabre-leaning rowdies any day, even if they do freak out their school friends talking about death and graves and their eventual return to bone.*

*[Happened. A parent at J’s first Montessori school asked me to ask Jonah to stop talking about death with her son because it was freaking him out.]

One thought on “Graveyard construction and black stabbing work

  1. Oh, grave yard construction and “black stabbing”. … Goes together like peanut butter and jelly…or something. Jonah seems like he would make a good monk…or at least greatly appreciate the monastery crypts where they have all the skulls of the departed.

Leave a Reply

