six apologies, lord

[Note: My friend-poet-C shared this poem with me this week. I can’t get it out of my mind.
Clouds, LordandLover, My Teeth In This My Mouth…]

I Have Loved My Horrible Self, Lord.
I Rose, Lord, And I Rose, Lord, And I,
Dropt. Your Requirements, Lord. ‘Spite Your Requirements, Lord,
I Have Loved The Low Voltage Of The Moon, Lord,
Until There Was Moon Intensity Left, Lord, No Moon
   Intensity Left
For You, Lord. I Have Loved The Frivolous, The Fleeting, The
   Frightful
Clouds. Lord, I Have Loved Clouds! Do Not Forgive Me, Do Not
Forgive Me LordandLover, HarborandMaster,
   GuardianandBread, Do Not.
Hold Me, O, Lord, Hold Me

Accountable, Lord. I Am
Accountable. Lord.

Lord It Over Me,
Lord It Over Me, Lord. Feed Me

Hope, Lord. Feed Me
Hope, Lord, Or Break My Teeth.

Break My Teeth, Sir,

In This My Mouth.

–Olena Kalityak Davis, “six apologies lord”
from Shattered Sonnets, Love Card, and Other Off and Back Handed Importunities

Leave a Reply

