Mary

I’ve taken to graveyards the way I formerly took to church. The quiet prevails over busy streets; it makes its own place, feeds a part of me that needs feeding. I’m guessing that most of the souls buried there probably aren’t saints, but I apprehend their brotherhood. In this case, sisterhood; there appeared to be a number of nuns in the company. W.S. Merwin wrote, in a poem titled “Epitaph”: Death is not information. / Stone that I am, / He came into my quiet / And I shall be still for him. I feel something like that. What I know is their stillness. Maybe they are at peace, maybe they are not. I hope, at the very least, they are remembered. Going there is like church because I remember them. I remember death. I sense its place in everything the living do. Leonardo da Vinci wrote (in a personal diary I believe, around the time that he was painting the difficult commission of St. Jerome in the Wilderness), “While I thought I was learning how to live, I have been learning how to die.” I’m sure this seems dark and melancholy on my part, and it is, a little. I’ve had a rather dark and melancholy day, which is probably what occasions these thoughts. Thankfully. Because this is as close as I get to meditation. The trick is not sinking too far or lashing out. Did okay on the former, not so well on the latter.

Yesterday G and I crossed Cleveland Avenue to explore another cemetery. We found this Mary there and were quite taken. G went so far as to demand being lifted so that he could touch her. A kind, kind face. Large praying hands. The stone weathered dark and lighter in places. Her peaceful brow. I’d like her to pray over my grave one day.

One thought on “Mary

Leave a Reply

