Graveyard fascination, Part II

I just started David Copperfield. 877 pages of vintage Dickens, jam-packed with eccentric characters, a bit of tragedy, and a lot of comedy. Dickens writes, “Of all my books, I like this the best. It will be easily believed that I am a fond parent to every child of my fancy, and that no one can ever love that family as dearly as I love them. But, like many fond parents, I have in my heart of hearts a favourite child. And his name is DAVID COPPERFIELD.”

I’d say I’m inclined to agree, but honestly, the last Dickens I read was in high school, so I’m not exactly an authority. But how can you not love a book that opens with the story of a caul? And he seems to share my graveyard fascination (see the excerpt below). The photo was taken in a graveyard near our home. Gabriel likes to walk there.

“There is nothing half so green that I know anywhere, as the grass of that churchyard; nothing half so shady as its trees; nothing half so quiet as its tombstones. The sheep are feeding there, when I kneel up, early in the morning, in my little bed in a closet within my mother’s room, to look out at it; and I see the red light shining on the sun-dial, and think within myself, ‘Is the sun-dial glad, I wonder, that it can tell the time again?'”

— Charles Dickens, from David Copperfield

Leave a Reply

